Trinamool’s Brigade Blitz: Mamata Declares ‘Ekla Chalo Re’ as Opposition Faces Setback

TMC fields Yusuf Pathan against Congress heavyweight, stands with expelled MP Mahua Moitra. On Sandeshkhali issue, Mamata calls out BJP's selective silence, raises Election Commissioner’s resignation issue

Kolkata: The Trinamool Congress (TMC)’s Lok Sabha candidates declared by its chief Mamata Banerjee at Brigade Rally came as a setback for the opposition alliance, which she named “INDIA,”.

Following the renowned slogan of poet Rabindranath Tagore, the TMC adopted the motto “Ekla Chalo Re” and unveiled its Lok Sabha candidates for all 42 seats in West Bengal. With this move, TMC left no room for speculation regarding seat sharing with the Congress, CPM, or any other party in Bengal.

The ruling TMC utilized the platform of the Jonogorjon Rally at Brigade Ground to announce its candidates. All 42 candidates were present at the rally, walking on the raised ramp with party supremo Mamata Banerjee as their names were revealed.

TMC showcased its Lok Sabha candidates with flair, parading them on the raised ramp during the party’s Jonogorjon Sabha.

Former cricketers, film stars to Oxford PhD scholar all in TMC’s list

The list includes several new faces, including Oxford University scholar Shahnawaz Ali Raihan, and surprisingly, former Team India cricketer Yusuf Pathan, will be contesting against Congress Party leader in Lok Sabha and state Congress President Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury from the Berhampore constituency. Pathan also used to play cricket for KKR in IPL. TMC also awarded tickets to former cricketer and member of the 1983 World Cup-winning team, Kirti Azad.

Of the 42 candidates, TMC fielded 12 females and six Muslim candidates. Notably, Bengali cinema actor and MP from Basirhat, Nusrat Jahan, has been excluded. The Sandeshkhali constituency, embroiled in alleged rape and land grab cases involving TMC leaders, falls under Basirhat. Haji Nurul Islam has been chosen over the actor.

However, TMC granted a ticket to Mahua Moitra, who has been expelled from parliament. Moitra will be contesting from the same Krishnanagar seat. The ruling party has dropped eight sitting MPs.

Women Paraded Naked in Manipur but BJP did not send any team there: Mamata

Addressing the Jonogorjon Sabha, TMC chief Mamata Banerjee brought up the resignation of Election Commissioner Arun Goel in her speech. She alleged that Goel had to resign because he did not accept the BJP’s demands regarding the schedule of poll dates and deployment of forces.

India’s only woman chief minister also criticized the BJP for its handling of the Sandeshkhali issue and its failure to send a team to Manipur, where women were reportedly paraded naked.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button