Cyclone Yaas wreak havoc in coastal West Bengal

Kolkata: Watch cyclone Yaas wreak havoc in coastal West Bengal– East Medinipur, South 24 Parganas, Digha, Mandarmani among others. Lunar high tide added on to the agony of the locals as the rivers swelled with tidal and sea water. Several embankments breached. However, Kolkata narrowly escaped the wrath of the severe cyclone, which is now about to reach Jharkhand.

what is a cyclone?

According to Outlook India, The term ‘Cyclone’ comes from the Greek word Cyclos which means a coiling snake. It is a system of wind rotating inwards around a low-pressure area. Caused by atmospheric disturbance, cyclones are usually accompanied by severe weather conditions such as storms.

When are Cyclones named?

When the speed of a storm wind reaches or crosses 74 mph then it is considered to be a Cyclone, hurricane, or typhoon. Only when a storm becomes a Cyclone it is given a name.

How are Cyclones named?

The naming of cyclones is done by World Meteorological Organization/United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (WMO/ESCAP) Panel on Tropical Cyclones (PTC), according to an NDTV report.

Thirteen countries on the panel, including India, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Pakistan, the Maldives, Oman, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Iran, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen, name cyclones in the region. In 2020, a new list of names was released that had 169 names of cyclones, having 13 suggested names each from 13 countries.

In the past years, the world as well as India too has witnessed so many destructive cyclones. India faced hits by cyclone Fani (2019), Vayu (2019), Nisarga (2020), Amphan (2020), Gulab (2021), Yaas (2021) and Tauktae (2021) passed on.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button