Manipur Congress moves no-confidence motion against BJP led govt, stakes claim to form govt

The BJP-led coalition in Manipur lost the support of nine MLAs, four of whom are state cabinet ministers. Of them, four were from the National People’s Party (NPP) and three from the BJP

Must read

Shillong: It is an irony that Manipur celebrated June Uprising, Unity Day a day after the coalition government in the state witnessed a disharmonious development that has left the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) hierarchy in utter chaos.

The BJP-led coalition in Manipur lost the support of nine MLAs, four of whom are state cabinet ministers. Of them, four were from the National People’s Party (NPP), which is led by Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma, and three from the BJP.

The NPP ministers who quit are — deputy CM Y Joykumar Singh, a former cop during the Congress government of Okram Ibobi Singh, tribal and hills area development minister N Kayishii, youth affairs and sports minister Letpao Haokip and health and family welfare minister L Jayanta Kumar Singh.

The BJP legislators who left the party and joined the Congress are Samuel Jendai, TT Haokip and Subhashchandra. The other two MLAs who withdrew support from the coalition are L Robindro of the Trinamool Congress, headed by Mamata Banerjee who is always severely critical of the BJP in Bengal and at the Centre, and Ashabuddin, an Independent.

The saffron party, which is adept at ‘bringing’ MLAs in its fold, is getting a taste of its own medicine.

On Thursday, the state Congress, led by former CM Ibobi Singh, met Governor Najma Heptullah and requested her to call a special Assembly session “in a couple of days” to table a no-confidence motion against the N Biren Singh government.

Though the Congress had emerged as the single largest party with 28 seats in the last assembly elections in 2017, the BJP with 21 MLAs had managed to muster enough support in the 60-seat Assembly to form government.

Currently, the Manipur Assembly has 59 members as one Congress MLA who joined the BJP was disqualified.

The NPP in Meghalaya, which is also leading a coalition government, reportedly said there was no threat to the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance. But there had been murmurs within the coalition about the NPP’s double standards on the issue of citizenship bill.

Amid the political drama, the Manipur High Court on Thursday directed that “the judgment/order which is reserved and to be pronounced today by the Speaker, shall be kept in abeyance till tomorrow (Friday)”.

As political parties fine-tuned their strategies for the power game, Manipur observed the 19th June Uprising on Thursday. Citizens paid tributes to the 18 persons who died in a firing by security personnel in 2001.


- Advertisement -

Editor's choice


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

As Bengal election nears, BJP to organize Durga Puja in Kolkata

Kolkata: Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is eyeing to cash on the biggest festival of West Bengal, Durga Puja. Bengal BJP has decided to organise a...

Durga to be worshipped as a migrant worker in many pujas in Bengal

Kolkata: In West Bengal, it’s been a tradition for puja pandals in and around Kolkata to always resonate the present social issues through their...

Secret of NEET Perfect Scorer: 14 hours study, motivation from mother and proper use of lockdown period

Kolkata/Kota: It has been quite hectic for 18-year-old Shoyeb Aftab ever since the result for National Eligibility Cum Entrance Test (NEET) 2020 was declared....

Ruling and opposition party leaders, civil societies echo ‘Stand for Stan Swamy’

Kolkata/Ranchi: Saturday witnessed several protests against the arresting of 83-year-old activist Stan Swamy in connection with the Bhima-Koregaon case both in Ranchi and Kolkata....

Madhya Pradesh Assembly by-elections and disquiet within the ruling BJP

The 28 Assembly by-elections in Madhya Pradesh are becoming more problematic for the ruling BJP than for Congress. Of the BJP candidates, 22 are...